top of page

Living the Dream


About a month after being accepted to Canada's National Ballet School the song “I had a dream so big and loud,….”(Best Day Of My Life song by American Authors) was playing in our car while driving Leela to school. I turned to Leela and said “Leela, do you have a big dream?” “NO” (responded Leela) “WHAT?!?!? ...... Canada’s National Ballet School? " Leela confidently replied “Mom, I am living my dream!”

These words instantly inspired me…....( I thought I need to write and deliver a speech...and this blog just followed)

Since being accepted into the Canada’s National Ballet School, I have seen my shy little girl blossom into a confident young lady who has developed a number of life skills.

When I asked Leela how she is able to live her dream and many others including adults cannot, she simple turned and said "It just takes 4 ingredients: 1. Challenge your fear, 2. Work Hard, 3. Keep Going, and 4. Beleive in yourself." WOW!!! At just 12 years old she was able to articulate this.

I am Leela’s Mom and I thought my role was to inspire her?!?

HOWEVER, Leela inspires me. She is ……

So courageous

  • Fighting her fears

So driven

  • Working hard

So passionate

  • Keep going even when things are challenging

So motivational

  • Believing in herself and her dream

Are you living your dream?

--------------------------------

On June 3red I delivered "Living the Dream" speech and Leela had achieved 63% (or $2,719) of her tuition fee for Canada's Naitonal Ballet Summer School. Since that date, Leela has been fully booked iwth jobs nearly every day and recieved some donations too.

However, what is even more amazing is to see how Leela's story is touching so many other people. In fact, her story was mentioned in a couple of other speeches just his past week.

By June 20th, Leela reached 87.66% ($3,773). Only $531 to reach 100%.

Thank you Thank you Thank you to everyone who has supported Leela's ballet dream. Please continue to share Leela's story and help her reach 100%.

People email:

"I am just so impressed with Leela"

"The lessons which you have learned from all of this fundraising, Leela, are impressive. "

I didn't know that you watched utube videos to learn how to make muffins. That is fantastic. I feel your pain about the batch that didn't turn out last night. I have that same problem sometimes too. Good luck with the next batch.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page